While the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has no requirement for taking a drivers education course prior to licensing, it may still be a good idea to complete one. By taking a drivers ed course, license candidates can gain valuable knowledge about the rules of the road, safe vehicle operation and Alaska traffic law.
Before Alaska Drivers Ed
Alaska’s graduated driver license program allows teens 14 years of age or older to begin the licensing process by obtaining a learners permit. While holding your permit, you’ll have the opportunity to gain valuable experience that will serve to make you a better driver when it comes time to get your license.
Getting your Alaska learners permit will require that you pass a written test over Alaska driving law and road signs. There is lots of information that you will need to know to pass this test. Here are three ways that you could prepare:
- Study the Alaska driver handbook
- Consider a driver prep course
- Take advantage of an Alaska permit practice test
Permit practice tests give you the opportunity to learn from real test questions so that you can know what you need to know, even before you go. Passing a test is easy if you already know the answers!
Why Take Alaska Drivers Ed?
While you can gain a lot from your practice driving hours, you may not coincidentally encounter every situation that safe drivers need to respond to. Most driver education classes have both classroom and behind-the-wheel components to provide valuable, hands-on experience and exposure to situations that you might see later in your driving career.
Steps to Your Alaska License
Whether you choose to complete a drivers ed course or not, Alaska licensing requirements are the same. In order for a license candidate under the age of 18 to qualify they must:
- Be at least 16 years old
- Have held a learners permit for at least six months
- Have completed 40 hours of driving supervised by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age
- Have not received any traffic violations in the past six months
If a candidate has accumulated 6 points on their driving record within the past 12 months, the completion of a DMV defensive driving course is also required.
If you live in rural Alaska, please visit the Guide to Rural Driving page of the AK DMV website for information on how to obtain your first license.
IMPORTANT NOTE: If you are enrolled in an approved drivers ed course through your school, community college or professional driving school, you may qualify for a special learners permit. For more details, contact your school or the Alaska DMV at (855) 269-5551.
Utah Drivers Ed
Ready for your Utah License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your Complete Guide to Getting a Permit
Alabama Drivers Ed
Need an Alabama license? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Delaware Drivers Ed
Ready for your Delaware license? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Wyoming Drivers Ed
Ready for your Wyoming License? Confused by the DOT website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel
Mississippi Drivers Ed
Ready for your Mississippi License? Confused by the DPS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.