In Colorado, prospective drivers will have the opportunity to learn about a Colorado drivers license and have become safer and more responsible by completing a DMV-approved drivers education course. For teens between 15 and 17 years of age, the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles allows the course to be completed either in a classroom or online.
Requirements for Taking Drivers Ed Colorado
Depending on your age, the Colorado DMV has different drivers ed requirements:
- Driving candidates between 15 and 15 ½ years of age need to apply for a “driver education permit”
- Driving candidates between 15 ½ and 16 years of age need to apply for a “driver awareness permit.” Drivers in this category can complete a 4-hour prequalification driver awareness program as a substitute for drivers ed
Drivers in these two categories must apply for their learners permit within six months of completing their course.
Potential drivers over the age of 16 are not required by the Colorado DMV to complete any official drivers education course to receive a permit.
What You Will Learn in Colorado Drivers Ed
A Colorado DMV approved drivers education course will include topics like the following:
- Safe driving techniques
- Colorado driving law
- Valuable information helpful for passing the written permit test
IMPORTANT NOTE: If you select the online option for a Colorado drivers ed course, be very sure that the provider you select offers a course that has been approved by the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles. If the online option interest you, take a look at our list of Colorado DMV approved course providers.
After completing your course, you will receive a certificate of completion to take to your local DMV office and will qualify you to take your permit test.
Getting Your Permit after Drivers Ed Colorado
After completing the 30 hours of classroom or online drivers ed, you are now free to apply for your Colorado instruction permit. Visit your local DMV office and be prepared for the following:
- Providing proof that you have completed Colorado drivers education
- Submitting identification
- Submitting a completed Form DR 2460
- Taking a written and vision test
- Payment of a 9$ fee
IMPORTANT NOTE: Preparing for your written test is easy when you take advantage of a Colorado permit practice test.
How to Get Your License after Colorado Drivers Ed
Once you have your permit, you must complete either six hours of behind the wheel training with a driver education professional OR 12 hours of driving practice with a parent or guardian if there is no approved drivers ed school within 30 miles of your home.
In addition, license candidates under the age of 18 must accumulate 50 hours of driving practice (confirmed with a Form DR2324) and have held a drivers permit for at least 12 months.