First-time teen drivers in Nevada are required to complete a driver education course by the Department Of Motor Vehicles. This course is designed to teach new drivers how to be safe and responsible behind the wheel and to prepare them for the written DMV test.
Beginning Drivers Ed Nevada
New drivers under the age of 18 must complete an approved driver education program. This program may be started when you turn 15, and you can apply for a learner permit when you are 15 ½. While having a permit is not a prerequisite for taking a driver education course, you may still want to get yours as soon as possible as you will have to hold it for a minimum of six months before you can apply for your driver license.
You can take a driver ed course from your high school, a professional driving school or with an online driver education program. For many young drivers, the online option is the best because you can work on the course at any time from anywhere.
The online course you choose MUST be approved by the Nevada DMV to satisfy the state drivers ed requirement. Check here for a list of NV DMV approved providers.
New Mexico driving law does provide a drivers ed exemption for any teens living more than 30 miles from an approved provider. If you do not have access to a traditional classroom, you may complete the course online or instead use 100 hours of supervised driving practice as a substitute for the course.
What You’ll Learn in Nevada Drivers Ed
Your Nevada driver education program will either be structured as 30 hours of classroom instruction or, at some specialized schools, 15 hours of classroom combined with five hours of behind the wheel training.
The classroom curriculum for your course will include topics like:
- Nevada traffic laws and violations
- Road signs, signals and markings
- Accident avoidance
- Driving in hazardous conditions such as heavy traffic and poor weather
At the end of your course, you will receive a certificate of completion that you will submit to the NV DMV before continuing with the licensing process. Some high schools, however, do not provide these certificates. In this case, you will need to submit your report card or official transcript.
Getting Behind the Wheel after Drivers Ed Nevada
Following your driver education program, you will be ready to proceed with the next steps of the licensing process. If you have not already applied for your permit, you will need to do so now. Getting that permit will require you to pass a written knowledge test. You can prepare for this test in any of the following ways:
- Review what you learned in your drivers ed course
- Study the Nevada driver handbook
- Build your confidence with a permit practice test
Imagine walking into your test knowing the answers in advance. A permit practice test, created from questions found on actual DMV exams, is a great way to do exactly that.
Before getting your first driver license, you’ll need to fulfill the following requirements:
- Be at least 16
- Verify completion of at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice with a Form DLD130
- Have had your learner permit for at least six months
- Have been accident-free with no traffic violation or alcohol convictions in the previous six months
- Pass a road skills test at your local DMV office