Does Your Learners Permit Work Out-of-State?

by Jim Thompson | Last Updated: May 9, 2024

With summer road trips approaching, learning drivers often like to pitch in with the driving. Taking a leg or two of the trip behind the wheel is a great way to get some experience on the highway and to test driving skills in a new environment. 

Way back in 19 (mumble-mumble) when I first got my permit, my family took a road trip to California and what happened is still a part of family legend. Hopefully your trip will leave you with great memories, too.

If you are planning on driving across state lines with your permit, you may want to tap your brakes for just a minute. Different states have different driving laws. Because of this, some states won’t allow drivers with just a permit to drive there. In other cases, young drivers in a different state have to abide by the rules of that state and not the one they call home. But how are you to know?

Lucky for you, you found this post. We are going to list the rules and regulations of driving with an out-of-state permit in every state. That way you won’t wind up on the wrong side of the law just because you’re giving dad a break behind the wheel!

Out-of-State Permit Rules for Every State

IMPORTANT NOTE—This information is accurate as of the publication date of this post. Laws concerning drivers licenses and permits don’t change very often, but we have provided phone numbers for each appropriate state agency so you can contact them for additional confirmation.

Alabama

Alabama out-of-state permit rules

Alabama allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Alabama ALEA .

 


 

Alaska

Alaska out-of-state permit rules

If you are planning an extended road trip, Alaska may be the place to go. Alaska allows you to drive on a permit for 90 days. Out-of-state permit holders must be accompanied by a 21 year old who has been licensed at least one year.

For confirmation, contact the Alaska DPS.

 


Arizona

Arizona out-of-state permit rules

If you are planning the same Texas to California road trip I took as a young driver, you’ll have to let your folks do Arizona. Arizona doesn’t allow driving with an out-of-state permit.

You can call an Arizona DOT office to see if they’ve changed their minds.

 


Arkansas

Arkansas out-of-state permit rules

Arkansas allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Arkansas DFA.

 

 


California

California out-of-state permit rules

Out-of-state permits can be used in California for only 10 days and only if you are between 16 and 18 years of age. After 10 days you will need to get either a Non-Resident Minor’s Certificate or a California license.

For confirmation, contact the California DMV.


 

Colorado

Colorado out-of-state permit rules

Colorado allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Colorado DOR.

 


Connecticut

Connecticut out-of-state permit rules

Connecticut makes things complicated as you will have to follow your state rules and theirs. This means you will have to be accompanied by a 20-year-old that has been licensed for 4 years when you drive there. You will also need to have had your permit for 60 days in your home state before you will be allowed to drive on Connecticut’s limited access highways. For confirmation, contact the Connecticut DMV.

 


Delaware

Delaware out-of-state permit rules

Delaware allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Delaware DMV.

 


 

Florida

Florida out-of-state permit rules

Florida makes things complicated as you will have to follow your state’s rules as well as theirs. This means you will need to be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older in the front seat. In addition, if you have had your permit for three months or less, you can only drive during daylight hours. If you have had it longer than three months, you can only drive until 10:00 p.m. For confirmation, contact the Florida HSMV.

 


 

Georgia 

Georgia out-of-state permit rules

Georgia allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Georgia DDS.

 

 


Hawaii

Hawaii out-of-state permit rules

Hawaii doesn’t allow driving with an out-of-state permit but you’ll probably be too busy swimming and surfing and going to luau’s to notice.

For confirmation, contact the Hawaii DMV.

 

 


Idaho

Idaho out-of-state permit rules

Idaho allows driving on an out-of-state permit under the following conditions: The permit holder must be at least 15 years old, (16 to drive after dark), and must be accompanied by a licensed driver in the front seat.

For confirmation, contact the Idaho DMV.


 

Illinois 

Illinois out-of-state permit rules

Illinois allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Illinois SOS.

 


Indiana

Indiana out-of-state permit rules

Indiana allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state and only if you are accompanied in the front seat by a guardian or relative who holds a valid operator’s, chauffeur’s, or public passenger chauffeur’s license.

For confirmation, contact the Indiana BMV.

 


Iowa

Iowa out-of-state permit rules

Iowa allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Iowa DOT.

 


Kansas

Kansas out-of-state permit rules

Kansas allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Kansas Highway Patrol.

 


Kentucky

Kentucky out-of-state permit rules

Kentucky allows driving on an out-of-state permit under the following conditions: The permit holder must be at least 16 years old, no driving is allowed between midnight and 6:00 a.m., and they must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older in the front seat.

For confirmation, contact the Kentucky DMV.

 


Louisiana

Louisiana out-of-state permit rules

Louisiana allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state with the further condition that you be accompanied by a 21-year-old licensed driver.

For confirmation, contact a Louisiana OMV office.

 


Maine

Maine out-of-state permit rules

Maine allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are 16 and follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Maine BMV.

 


 

Maryland

Maryland out-of-state permit rules

Maryland allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are 15 years and nine months old and are accompanied in the front seat by a driver who is at least 21 years old that has been licensed a minimum of three years.

For confirmation, contact a Maryland MVA office.

 


 

Massachusetts

Massachusetts out-of-state permit rules

Massachusetts allows driving on an out-of-state permit with the following conditions: The permit holder must be at least 16 years of age and accompanied at all times by a driver at least 21 years of age licensed in the same state. Further, permit holders under the age of 18 may not operate a motor vehicle between the hours of midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless accompanied by a licensed parent or legal guardian.

For confirmation, contact the Massachusetts RMV.


 

Michigan

Michigan out-of-state permit rules

Michigan allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are at least 16, are accompanied by a licensed driver 21 or older in the front seat, and follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Michigan SOS.

 


 

Minnesota

Minnesota out-of-state permit rules

Minnesota allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are 15 and follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Minnesota DPS.

 


Mississippi

Mississippi out-of-state permit rules

Mississippi allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Mississippi DPS.

 


 

Missouri

Missouri out-of-state permit rules

Missouri allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are at least 15 years, 182 days old, and are accompanied by a parent, grandparent or guardian. To make things more complicated, Missouri law allows a disabled parent, grandparent or guardian to designate up to two other 21 year old licensed drivers who may accompany you instead,

For confirmation (and maybe more clarification), contact the Missouri DOR.


Montana

Montana out-of-state permit rules

Montana allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state and are accompanied by a licensed driver.

For confirmation, contact the Montana MVD.

 


 

Nebraska

Nebraska out-of-state permit rules

Nebraska allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Nebraska DMV.

 


 

Nevada

Nevada out-of-state permit rules

Nevada allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Nevada DMV.


 

New Hampshire

New hampshire out-of-state permit rules

New Hampshire doesn’t even issue permits to their new drivers, but you can drive on yours provided that you are 151/2 and are accompanied by a parent or other licensed driver over the age of 25.

For confirmation, contact the New Hampshire DMV.


 

New Jersey

New jersey out-of-state permit rules

New Jersey allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state and provided you are driving a car titled, registered, and insured in your home state.

For confirmation, contact the New Jersey MVC.


 

New Mexico

New mexico out-of-state permit rules

New Mexico allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the New Mexico MVD.


 

New York

New york out-of-state permit rules

New York makes things complicated as you will have to follow your state’s rules as well as theirs. This means you have to be at least 16. Your permit is also not allowed in New York City, Nassau County or Suffolk County.

For confirmation (and maybe more clarification), contact the New York DMV.


 

North Carolina

North carolina out-of-state permit rules

North Carolina allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are at least 16 and follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the North Carolina DMV.

 

 


North Dakota

North dakota out-of-state permit rules

North Dakota allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are at least 16 and follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the North Dakota DOT.

 


 

Ohio

Ohio out-of-state permit rules

Ohio allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Ohio DPS.

 


 

Oklahoma

Oklahoma out-of-state permit rules

Oklahoma allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are at least 16 and follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Oklahoma DPS.

 


 

Oregon

Oregon out-of-state permit rules

Oregon allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are at least 15 and are accompanied in the front seat by a licensed driver at least 21 years old.

For confirmation, contact the Oregon DMV.

 


 

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania out-of-state permit rules

As of now, Pennsylvania does NOT allow driving with an out-of-state permit.

You can contact the Pennsylvania DMV to see if they’ve changed their minds.

 


 

Rhode Island

Rhode island out-of-state permit rules

Rhode Island allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as your state will accept one of theirs.

For confirmation, contact the Rhode Island DMV.

 

 


South Carolina

South carolina out-of-state permit rules

As of now, South Carolina does NOT allow driving with an out-of-state permit.

You can contact the South Carolina DMV to see if they’ve changed their minds.

 


South Dakota

South dakota out-of-state permit rules

South Dakota allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as your state will accept one of theirs.

For confirmation, contact the South Dakota DPS.

 


 

Tennessee

Tennessee out-of-state permit rules

Tennessee accepts permits from some states, but not all.

To see if your permit makes the cut, contact a Tennessee Licensing Center.

 


Texas

Texas out-of-state permit rules

Texas allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are at least 16 and are accompanied in the front seat by a licensed driver at least 18 years old.

For confirmation, contact the Texas DPS.


Utah

Utah out-of-state permit rules

Utah allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Utah DMV.


Vermont

Vermont out-of-state permit rules

Vermont does NOT allow driving with an out-of-state permit, unless you are on vacation.

For confirmation, contact the Vermont DMV.


Virginia

Virginia out-of-state permit rules

Virginia allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are at least 15 and are accompanied in the front seat by a licensed driver at least 21 or, if a sibling, at least 18 years old.

For confirmation, contact the Virginia DMV.


Washington

Washington out-of-state permit rules

The state of Washington allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are at least 15 and are accompanied in the front seat by a licensed driver at with least five years of driving experience.

For confirmation, contact the Washington DOL.


West Virginia

West virginia out-of-state permit rules

West Virginia allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the West Virginia DMV.


Wisconsin

Wisconsin out-of-state permit rules

Wisconsin allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you are at least 16 and follow Wisconsin’s permit rules and traffic laws.

For confirmation (and clarification), contact the Wisconsin DMV.

 


Wyoming

Wyoming out-of-state permit rules

Wyoming allows driving with an out-of-state permit as long as you follow the permit rules of your home state.

For confirmation, contact the Wyoming DOT.