The Illinois Office of the Secretary of State requires first-time drivers under the age of 18 to complete an approved driver education course before obtaining a license. Using a combination of classroom and behind the wheel instruction, a drivers ed course can prepare you to be a safe, responsible and confident driver.
About Drivers Ed Illinois
Drivers ed is available through Illinois public high schools. If you are a private school or homeschooled student, you may take a driver education course at a school within the district where you live.
If you wish, you can begin the process of getting your license by enrolling in a drivers education course at age 15. You must be enrolled in a course before you can apply for your Illinois instruction permit.
The most challenging part of getting your instruction permit is passing the required written knowledge test. While you can certainly study the Illinois driver handbook and use information picked up during your driver ed course, perhaps the easiest way to pass this exam on the first try is to use a permit practice test. Permit practice tests are built from past Illinois DMV exams so you will be able to see the information that they want you to know and exactly how they are going to ask you about it.
The Illinois Drivers Ed Classroom
The classroom portion of your driver education program will be 30 hours long and will give you valuable information on topics like:
- Illinois driving law and rules of the road
- How to drive safely and defensively
- Driving in hazardous situations such as severe weather or congested roadways
- The dangers of distracted driving
- Attitudes and skills of the responsible driver
Your drivers education class will also include six hours of behind the wheel instruction giving you the practical experience needed to begin the supervised driving portion of the state licensing requirements.
After Drivers Ed Illinois
Once you have received your permit and have completed your driver education course, it is time to start your supervised practice driving. In Illinois, you’ll need to complete at least 50 hours of practice with a licensed adult who is 21 or older. Of these 50 hours, 10 of them must be completed after dark.
You will apply for your Illinois initial driver license at your local Driver Services office where you will present them with the following:
- Your Illinois learner permit
- Proof that you have completed your driver education course. Many course providers will supply this information for you
- A Form DSD X 174 confirming that you have your parents or guardians permission to drive
- A Form DSD X 152 confirming that you have completed your supervised practice driving hours
- Acceptable proof of identity
After all of the above documents have been approved, you will then take your road skills test. This is where the time you have spent in drivers ed and in practice driving will really pay off. Take a deep breath, show them what you’ve got and you’ll be on the road in no time.
Iowa Drivers Ed
Ready for your Iowa license? Confused by the DOT website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Consider Drivers Ed
Not only mandatory in some states, it’s also a great way to learn driving safety and how to behave properly while out on the road. Consider drivers ed
Your First-Time Texas Drivers License Guide
Texas license time? Confused by the DPS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Minnesota Drivers Ed
Ready for your Minnesota License? Confused by the DVS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Hawaii Drivers Ed
Ready for your Hawaii license? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Washington Drivers Ed
Ready for your Washington License? Confused by the DOL website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.