The Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR) requires teenagers applying for a drivers license to complete a drivers education course. The course is a great benefit, not only to teen drivers but to any driver needing to pass a driving exam or simply to become a better driver.
Getting Ready for Kansas Drivers Ed
License applicants younger than 16 are required to complete a drivers education program before they can obtain a license. If you are at least 14 years old, the first step is to obtain your learner’s permit and to enroll in a drivers ed class.
For many, the main obstacle to getting a learner’s permit is the passing of the learners permit test. The test includes much information about traffic law and other details of the Kansas driving environment.
Drivers wishing to do well on the permit exam could prepare in any or all of the following ways:
- Careful study of the Kansas driver manual
- By taking a driver prep course
- Getting “real life” experience with a Kansas permit practice test
A Kansas practice test is an ideal way to prepare for your written exam. It’s just like the test you will see, with none of the pressure. After you can ace it at home, head to your local Kansas DMV office and knock it out of the park!
A Little Bit about Drivers Ed Kansas
State authorized and approved drivers education courses are offered in public high schools and at professional driving schools. It must be noted that, while there are many providers, the state of Kansas does not currently recognize online driving courses to fulfill the graduated drivers license requirements.
Regardless of where you take a drivers education class, the class will feature both theoretical and practical instruction. The amount of time spent in a classroom and the time spent in a car will be determined by your course provider.
The classroom portion will expose you to topics like:
- Kansas traffic law
- Defensive driving techniques
- Safe vehicle operating procedures
- Driving in hazardous conditions such as heavy traffic and bad weather
From Kansas Drivers Ed to Kansas Drivers License
With the completion of your drivers Ed course, you are one step closer to your Kansas drivers license. Before scheduling your road test, make sure the following requirements have also been met:
- You have had your learner’s permit for at least one year
- You have completed at least 25 hours of supervised driving
- You have turned 15 years old
On the day you visit the Kansas DMV for your road test, be sure to bring proof of your identity and, after you a pass that driving test, you will be on your way.
Oregon Drivers Ed
Ready for your Oregon License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Connecticut Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Connecticut license? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Hawaii Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Hawaii license? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
How to Retake Your Permit Test
Don't feel bad about not passing your permit test, more than 1 in 3 first time test takers do. Forget that first tryand use these tips to blow the next one away.
The Kansas Guide to Dealing with Traffic Tickets
Get a ticket? Learn how defensive driving courses can benefit your driving record (and wallet!) while discovering where to take one online.
First-Time Illinois License Guide for Drivers 18-20
SOS website have you confused about adult drivers ed? Let us help! Find links to the steps, forms (and online driving schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.