A drivers education course is designed to prepare new drivers with knowledge and skills they need to be conscientious and safe on the roadway. As a part of the Maine graduated driver license program (GDL), the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) requires the completion of a drivers ed course as a step to licensing.
If you have recently moved to Maine and already hold an out-of-state license, you may be able to transfer that license here. You will likely need to show proof that you have completed a drivers ed course if you are under 18 years of age. For details, you may call the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles at (207) 624-9000.
What Will I Learn from Drivers Ed Maine?
Teens in Maine can take drivers ed from any provider that has been approved by the ME Secretary of State. There are probably third-party providers near you and perhaps even your high school has a drivers ed program. You may visit the Secretary of State website for a complete list of approved drivers ed providers.
Whether you take drivers ed at your school or from a third party provider, the curriculum will include topics like:
- Maine traffic law and rules of the road
- Road signs, signals and markings
- Sharing the road safely with others
- Appropriate attitudes and behaviors behind the wheel
- The dangers and consequences of DWI
After Maine Drivers Ed, What’s Next in the GDL?
After completing driver’s ed, you will need to get your learners permit so that you may begin practice driving. Getting a learners permit requires both a vision and a written knowledge test.
To prepare yourself for the written exam, you may want to:
- Review the material learned in your drivers ed class
- Spend some time refreshing with the Maine driver handbook
- Quiz yourself with an online practice test
Practice tests are a great way to boost your confidence as they will feature questions taken directly from past BMV tests. These practice tests are available online, easy-to-use and will improve your chances of acing your written test on the first try.
After receiving your permit, you will have to wait six months to apply for your intermediate license. During this time you’ll need to complete 70 hours of practice driving, supervised by a licensed adult. At the end of the six months and with your practice driving completed, you may call the Maine BMV at (207) 624-9000 to schedule your driving test, and you’ll be one step closer to your provisional license.
From Drivers Ed Maine to Drivers License Maine
Once you have passed your road skills test you will be headed back to the ME BMV where you will submit the following documents so that you may obtain your provisional driver license:
- Your learner permit
- A completed Form MVE-64 signed by your parent or guardian
- Proof of your Social Security number
- Proof of your identity and legal Maine residency
- Payment for the $30 license fee
When all of your documentation has been approved, you’ll be ready to head to the parking lot, hop in your car and take your first solo drive!