In Maryland, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) requires that all new drivers, regardless of age, complete a drivers education course. A drivers ed course will prepare you with safe driving techniques and will also provide you with tips and information you’ll need to pass your written and road tests.
How to Begin Drivers Ed Maryland
The Motor Vehicle Administration’s rookie driver program requires that new drivers of any age complete a drivers education course. An approved course will consist of 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind the wheel training. These courses are available from third-party providers all over the state.
If you have recently moved to Maryland and have held an out of state drivers license for less than 18 months, you will also have to meet this drivers ed requirement.
To begin the behind the wheel portion of your course, you will need to have a learners permit. To get that permit you will be taking a written exam at your local MVA office. There are several ways that you can prepare yourself for this exam:
- If you have begun your drivers ed course, study the information you have been learning
- Refresh yourself with the Maryland drivers handbook
- Prep yourself with real questions by using a permit practice test
A permit practice test is created from actual questions from past Maryland MVA exams. It’s an easy way to boost your confidence before going into take your test.
What Will I Learn in Maryland Drivers Ed?
No matter the provider you choose, the classroom portion of a drivers ed course will cover the following information:
- Traffic laws in Maryland
- Handling emergency situations
- Good driving habits
- Accident avoidance
- Proper skills and attitudes
Moving from Maryland Drivers Ed and Out Onto the Road
After drivers Ed, your next step is a provisional license. The requirements to receive a provisional license depend on your age.
Drivers who are younger than 25 need to:
- Have held a learners permit for at least nine months with no violations.
- Have completed at least 60 hours of supervised driving, documented by a Form RD-006
- Have a parent or guardian cosign all applications and forms if you are younger than 18
If you have completed these steps, you are now ready for your driving test.
Drivers who are 25 years old or older need to:
- Have held a learners permit for at least 45 days
- Complete 14 hours of supervised driving documented by a Form RD-006. Three of the practice hours must have been completed at night.
- Have had no moving violation convictions
No matter your age, you will need to arrive at the MVA with documents that confirm your identity and proof of your Maryland residency. Check the MVA website for a list of acceptable documents.
Driving Course Guide
Ready to get your license? Need a driver safety course for a ticket or to save some insurance money? If you have questions, we have answers!
Your First-Time Colorado Drivers License Guide
Colorado license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
How to Retake Your Permit Test
Don't feel bad about not passing your permit test, more than 1 in 3 first time test takers do. Forget that first tryand use these tips to blow the next one away.
South Dakota Drivers Ed
Ready for your South Dakota License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
First-Time Texas License Guide for Drivers 18-24
TX DMV website have you confused about adult drivers ed ? Let us help! Find links to the steps, forms (and online driving schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Ohio Drivers License Guide
Ohio license time? Confused by the BMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.