Minnesota teens under the age of 18 are required by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) to complete a driver education course as part of the graduated driver licensing law. This course will prepare you, not only to pass your written and driver skills tests, but also to be a safe, responsible and confident driver.
Beginning Drivers Ed MN
Minnesota teens are eligible to enter a drivers education program once they turn 15. The course will have both a classroom and a behind the wheel segment. To start behind the wheel training requires that you complete the classroom portion and then obtain your Minnesota learners permit.
Getting this permit will require you to pass both a vision test and a written knowledge test. While your study of the Michigan driver handbook and the information presented to you in the classroom portion of your course will help prepare you for this test, there is one more step you may want to consider to give boost your confidence even more. Consider attempting a permit practice test. These tests are made up of questions from past DPS tests so that you will know exactly the information covered as well as the way the questions will be asked. It’s like knowing the answers before your exam even begins!
In the Drivers Ed Minnesota Classroom
The classroom portion of Minnesota drivers ed will cover the following topics:
- Minnesota road signs and traffic laws
- Safe operation of a motor vehicle
- Defensive driving techniques
- Sharing the road safely with other cars, big trucks, motorcyclists and pedestrians
- Handling hazardous and emergency situations
After you have successfully completed the classroom portion of your course, you are ready to get your permit and begin the required six hours of driving instruction.
Where to Take Minnesota Drivers Ed
Minnesota drivers ed is available at public and private high schools and at licensed driver training schools. Drivers ed can also be taught at home if you are a homeschooled student.
For homeschooled students, the state of Minnesota allows parents to teach the classroom portion of drivers ed, using materials approved by the MN DPS. Once the required 30 hours of classroom instruction is complete, an affidavit (Form PS 33135) must be submitted to the Office of Driver Education. You may submit this form by fax to (651) 296-5316 or by mail to:
Driver and Vehicle Services
445 Minnesota St, Suite 176
St Paul, MN 55101
Getting Your License after Minnesota Driver Training
Before applying for a provisional license you must complete 50 hours of supervised practice driving. This driving must occur with a licensed driver 21 or older in the front seat of the car.
If your parent is supervising your driving, there is a step they can take to reduce this requirement. The Minnesota DPS offers a parent awareness class. This class is only 90 minutes long but it will save you 10 hours in the car.
To apply for a Michigan provisional drivers license, you must be 16, have completed both the classroom and behind the wheel segments of drivers education, have held your permit for at least six months and then to pass a road skills test.
Consider Drivers Ed
Not only mandatory in some states, it’s also a great way to learn driving safety and how to behave properly while out on the road. Consider drivers ed
Your First-Time Pennsylvania Drivers License Guide
Pennsylvania license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Virginia Drivers License Guide
Virginia license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Iowa Drivers Ed
Ready for your Iowa license? Confused by the DOT website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Oklahoma Drivers License Guide
Oklahoma license time? Confused by the DPS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
First-Time Texas License Guide for Drivers 18-24
TX DMV website have you confused about adult drivers ed ? Let us help! Find links to the steps, forms (and online driving schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.