Mississippi 14-year-olds who wish to earn a learners permit are required by the Mississippi DPS to take a Mississippi drivers ed course. This requirement is lifted when a teen turns 15, but completing a course voluntarily at 15 or older may help you in a number of ways.
The Benefits of Mississippi Driving School
In Mississippi, all first-time drivers younger than 17 must obtain a learners permit to practice drive. The minimum age to get this permit is 15 but drivers can get a limited learners permit at 14 if they are enrolled in a drivers education program. This limited permit will be good for the length of your drivers ed course, and you will be restricted to driving only with your instructor.
The topics you’ll learn and the experience you will gain behind the wheel in a drivers education course will not only prepare you for the road, but will help you pass the written and driving tests required to get your license as well.
What You’ll Learn with Driver Education Mississippi
Mississippi driver education will help you prepare for the written knowledge exam, covering topics like these:
- Mississippi traffic law and violations
- Vehicle operation basics
- Sharing the road safely with other cars, big trucks, cyclists and pedestrians
- Tips to drive safely and defensively
- Consequences and penalties of DWI
To help you get ready for your driving test, you will balance your 30 hours of classroom instruction with six hours of behind the wheel training.
Drivers Ed Mississippi and Beyond
To take advantage of actual behind the wheel practice, you’ll have to get your learners permit. Preparing for the required written test should involve the following:
- Using the knowledge gained from a drivers ed course
- Studying the state of Mississippi driver manual
- Getting a sneak peek at the exam using a permit practice test
Permit practice tests use sample questions taken directly from Mississippi Department of Public Safety permit exams. This will give you the advantage not only of knowing the information asked but, even more importantly, how it will be asked. Quizzing yourself with a permit practice test can increase your chances of passing the test on your first try.
Before you can qualify for a full license, you will have to drive with an intermediate license. To earn an intermediate license you have to pass a driving skills test after holding your learners permit for at least 12 months.
Again, while there is no drivers ed requirement in Mississippi, taking one can help you to pass the required tests standing between you and your license. Drivers ed courses are available at some Mississippi high schools. However, if your school does not have a drivers ed program, or even if it does, you can take it much more conveniently online.
Your First-Time Arkansas Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Arkansas license? Confused by the state website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Montana Drivers Ed
Ready for your Montana License? Confused by the MVD website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Oklahoma Drivers License Guide
Oklahoma license time? Confused by the DPS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Nevada Drivers License Guide
Nevada license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Georgia Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Georgia license? Confused by the DDS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Illinois Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Illinois license? Confused by the SOS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.