Drivers ed Is a course designed to prepare new drivers with the skills necessary to become safe and responsible users of the roadway. While the state of Missouri does not require teens to take drivers education as a part of the licensing process, taking a course could still be of great benefit to you. Not only will such a course boost your confidence behind the wheel, but it will also give you a huge leg up in passing both your written and driving tests.
A Little about Drivers Ed Missouri
If you would like to take advantage of a drivers education program, you may be able to take a class at your high school. If your school does not offer drivers education, you can choose to take a course online. While it is not necessary to take drivers education, all first-time teen drivers must still meet the Missouri graduated drivers license requirements. These requirements include:
- Passing the Department of Motor Vehicles written knowledge and driving tests
- Completing a prescribed number of practice driving hours supervised by licensed adult driver
- Completing a period of probationary driving
The first step toward a Missouri drivers license is to earn a learners permit. When you have turned 15, you can visit your local Department of Motor Vehicle driver examination station where you’ll need to pass a knowledge test, a road sign test, and a vision exam.
There are several ways to prepare for the written and road sign tests:
- Take a drivers ed class
- Study the Missouri driver handbook
- Sharpen your skills with a permit practice test
On a permit practice test, you will see questions that have been pulled directly from past permit tests. Using a practice test will allow you to see not only the information that will be on the test, you’ll also get a chance to see exactly how the questions will be asked. Using these tests should make it easy to walk in with confidence and pass both tests on the first try.
What You’ll Learn in Missouri Drivers Ed
To help you both on your written test and behind the wheel, the topics of drivers ed MO will cover things like:
- Missouri traffic law and rules of the road
- Driving in hazardous situations like heavy traffic or inclement weather
- Safe driving techniques
- Sharing the road safely with other users
The Missouri DMV also provides some great resources for new drivers. Visit their website to take a look at the following:
Out of Drivers Ed Missouri and into Your Intermediate License
To qualify for an intermediate license in Missouri, the following conditions must be met:
- You must be at least 16 years old
- You must have held your learners permit for at least 182 days
- You must have completed at least 40 hours of supervised driving. These hours should be documented with a Form 4901
- You must not have had any alcohol related violations in the previous 12 months
- You must not have had any traffic citations in the previous six months
- You must pass the DMV road test
A Missouri intermediate license will allow you to drive a car unsupervised, but it will come with some restrictions. For more information about the intermediate license and the steps required to move to a full license, please consult the information about the Missouri Graduated Driver Licensing Law on the Missouri Department of Revenue website.
Vermont Drivers Ed
Ready for your Vermont License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Washington Drivers Ed
Ready for your Washington License? Confused by the DOL website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Arkansas Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Arkansas license? Confused by the state website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
New Mexico Drivers Ed
Ready for your New Mexico License? Confused by the MVD website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time California Drivers License Guide
California license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Fail Your Permit Test? You’re Not Alone
Fail your permit test? Yeah, it happens. In fact, over 1 in 3 first timers do. Check out some of the most notorious and some tips for next time.