To get a Montana drivers license, all teens 18 and under must satisfy the requirements of the Montana graduated driver license program. If you are younger than 16, step one for you will be to complete a drivers ed course so that you can get a learners license to start supervised practice driving.
Qualifying for Montana Drivers Ed
To receive credit for a drivers education course, a new driver must be at least 14 ½ but less than 18 years of age by the time the course is complete.
While taking drivers ed, you can apply for one of two permits:
- The Traffic Education Learners License (TELL) – This permit allows you to practice behind the wheel with your driving instructor as well as a parent or guardian
- The Traffic Education Permit (TEP) – This permit only allows practice with a certified driving instructor
For more details on these permits, contact your high school or the Montana Motor Vehicle Division for more details. You can reach the DMV by:
Phone: (406) 444-3933 or
Email: [email protected]
Montana drivers ed is offered through middle schools, junior highs and high schools. At this time, the Montana DMV does not recognize online courses to fulfill the drivers ed requirement. However, taking one may help you be more prepared as you take your permit test. Other ways to prepare for the permit test include studying the Montana driver handbook or with a permit practice test.
To give you an edge before your written exam, a permit practice test is built from actual questions from past Montana MVD exams. What better way to boost your confidence than to know the information required and precisely how it’s going to be asked?
What Is Taught in a Driver Education Montana Class?
A Montana drivers education course has both classroom and in-car training portions. The classroom portion will provide you solid information on driving theory, covering topics like:
- Montana traffic law and rules of the road
- Basic vehicle function and operation
- Sharing the road safely
- Handling emergency situations
- Driving in potentially hazardous conditions such as bad weather or heavy traffic
The classroom portion of your course will include 60 hours of training to be spread out over a minimum of 25 days. To prepare you for your driving skills test, a drivers ed course will also include six hours of behind the wheel training. If you do not successfully complete your drivers ed course, you will have to wait until you are 16 to get your TELL.
After Montana Drivers Ed
After completion of your drivers education course, you probably will be anxious to move on to the next stage of the licensing process. This will involve obtaining your restricted drivers license. You can apply for this license after holding your learners permit for at least six months and completing 50 hours of supervised driving with a licensed adult.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Moving up to your restricted license will involve a driving skills test. However, to be able to take the test, you must not have had any moving violations in the previous six months.
Consider Drivers Ed
Not only mandatory in some states, it’s also a great way to learn driving safety and how to behave properly while out on the road. Consider drivers ed
Kansas Drivers Ed
Ready for your Kansas license? Confused by the KS Revenue website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
The Montana Guide to Dealing with Traffic Tickets
Get a ticket? Learn how defensive driving courses can benefit your driving record (and wallet!) while discovering where to take one online.
Arkansas Drivers Ed
Ready for your Arkansas license? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Missouri Drivers Ed
Ready for your Missouri License? Confused by the DOR website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Wisconsin Drivers Ed
Ready for your Wisconsin License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.