To apply for a New Hampshire license, the New Hampshire Department of Safety Division of Motor Vehicles requires all first-time drivers under the age of 18 to complete a driver education course. A drivers ed course helps new drivers gain the skills necessary to be safe and responsible on the road and is also a great tool to help them pass the required written knowledge test.
Getting Started with Drivers Ed New Hampshire
Unlike other states, New Hampshire does not issue learner permits, so there is no need to obtain one before starting your driver education class. New Hampshire teens can begin supervised practice behind the wheel as long as they are accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or another licensed driver over the age of 25.
If you are under 18 years old and have recently moved to New Hampshire, you can transfer any driving privileges earned in another state as long as it meets NH licensing standard. Otherwise, you will be required to complete a New Hampshire drivers ed course.
How New Hampshire Drivers Ed Works
In New Hampshire, drivers ed programs are available at high schools as well as approved professional driving schools. Consult the DMV website for a list of professional driving schools.
A New Hampshire drivers ed program is at least 46 hours in length. These 46 hours or broken into 30 hours of classroom instruction, 10 hours of behind the wheel practice and six hours of in-car observation.
During the classroom portion of your course, you will be exposed to the following topics:
- Basic vehicle operation
- Safe driving skills and attitudes
- Handling hazardous conditions and driving emergencies
- New Hampshire traffic law and violations
- Sharing the road with other motorists, cyclists and pedestrians
Getting Your License after Drivers Ed New Hampshire
After you have completed your driver education course, to obtain your license requires that you complete the following steps:
- You must complete at least 40 hours of additional supervised practice, 10 of which must be at night. These practice driving hours must be documented by a Form DSMV 509.
- Obtain the permission of your parent or guardian
- Take a vision exam a written knowledge test and a road skills test at your local DMV office
If you are nervous about your written exam, you could always prepare by doing one of the following:
- Review the information you learned in drivers Ed
- Study the New Hampshire driver handbook
- Quiz yourself with a permit practice test
Permit practice tests are a great way to review because they are made from actual New Hampshire DMV questions. You can really increase your confidence by using a permit practice test.
Your First-Time Iowa Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Iowa license? Confused by the DOT website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Virginia Drivers License Guide
Virginia license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Pennsylvania Drivers License Guide
Pennsylvania license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Illinois Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Illinois license? Confused by the SOS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
First-Time Illinois License Guide for Drivers 18-20
SOS website have you confused about adult drivers ed? Let us help! Find links to the steps, forms (and online driving schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
I Just Got My Permit and Now We’re Moving?!?
So you've just gotten your learner’s permit, and now you’re moving to another state. Are you going to have to start over just because dad got transferred?