The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) requires any first-time teen driver license applicants to complete a driver education course. A driver education course will give you the tools necessary to become a safe, responsible and confident driver while also getting you ready for the written MVD test.
Getting Started with New Mexico Drivers Ed
New Mexico teens under the age of 18 are required by the DMV to complete a driver ed course. You may enroll in a driver ed course as long as you will be 15 by the time the course is complete. It will not be necessary for you to have your learners permit in order to take the course.
A New Mexico drivers education program will consist of either a curriculum of 30 classroom hours and seven hours of behind the wheel training or, if the school does not offer behind the wheel instruction, 56 hours of classroom training.
About New Mexico Driver Ed
Drivers ed is offered both in public or private high schools and at accredited professional driving schools. These driving schools must be certified by the NM Department of Transportation Traffic Safety Bureau. A list of these approved providers can be found on the New Mexico MVD website.
What You’ll Learn in New Mexico Driver Ed
The classroom portion of your drivers education program will expose you to valuable information on topics like:
- Safe and defensive driving techniques
- Sharing the road with others
- New Mexico traffic laws and violations
- Handling emergency situations
- Road signs, signals and markings
The curriculum also includes at least three hours of the dangers, consequences and penalties of driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol.
Getting a Provisional License after Drivers Ed NM
If you did not get your learner permit while taking driver ed, you need to do so for applying for your provisional license. To apply for your permit, you must provide proof of your identity, New Mexico residency and that you have completed or are enrolled in a driver education course.
Getting your permit will require that you pass a written driving knowledge test. You can prepare for this test in any of the following ways:
- Review the information presented in your drivers ed class
- Study the New Mexico driver handbook
- Quiz yourself with a New Mexico permit practice test
Permit practice tests feature questions taken directly from New Mexico MVC exams. This is an excellent way for you to see the necessary information and exactly how it will be asked. It is almost like having the answers before seeing the test. What a great way to boost your confidence before arriving at the NM MVC!
If you have completed your drivers education course while holding your permit, you can apply for your provisional driver license if you have met the following qualifications:
- You are at least 15 ½ years old
- Have held your learner permit for at least six months
- Have completed at least 50 hours of driving practice supervised by a licensed adult
- Have received no driving violations for the previous 90 days
- Pass a driving skills test at either your local MVC office or from a state approved drivers ed provider.
How to Choose the Best Driving School for Your Teen
If you’re the parent of a teen going out on the road for the first time, you’re probably trying to find the best driving school for your teen. Our guide will show you how to pick the best driving school for your young driver.
Fail Your Permit Test? You’re Not Alone
Fail your permit test? Yeah, it happens. In fact, over 1 in 3 first timers do. Check out some of the most notorious and some tips for next time.
Washington Drivers Ed
Ready for your Washington License? Confused by the DOL website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Alaska Drivers License Guide
Need an Alaska license? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
South Dakota Drivers Ed
Ready for your South Dakota License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Oklahoma Drivers License Guide
Oklahoma license time? Confused by the DPS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.