A driver education course is a great way for teens to receive valuable information to help them become safe and competent drivers. The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) requires that all teen drivers complete a North Dakota drivers ed course as well as supervised driving to obtain a restricted license.
When You May Begin Drivers Ed North Dakota
North Dakota drivers ed has both a classroom and a behind-the-wheel portion. To get started in your driver education ND course, you must meet the following qualifications:
- For the classroom portion, you must be in the ninth grade or above
- For the behind-the-wheel portion, you must be at least 14 years old
- For either portion, you must have your parents permission
During drivers ed, it is not necessary for you to have your learner permit, as long as your school district carries insurance for your protection. Check with your school before beginning behind the wheel instruction to make sure you are covered.
If you want to earn your learner permit, the following qualifications apply:
- You must be at least 14 years old
- You must have your parents permission
- You must pass the ND DOT written test
While the classroom portion of your drivers ed course will help prepare you for this written exam, perhaps the best way to do so is by using a permit practice test. On a permit practice test, you will see actual questions taken from past versions of ND DOT permit tests. There is no easier way to increase your confidence before the test than by knowing what information you will need to know in exactly the format that it will be asked.
What to Expect from Drivers Ed North Dakota
North Dakota drivers education is divided into 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind the wheel instruction. These courses are available at high schools and approved driver training schools. High school courses are generally offered before or after school and sometimes in the summer.
The classroom portion of drivers education will cover the following topics to help you get ready for your DMV tests. These subjects include:
- Road signs, signals and markings
- Sharing the road safely with others
- Traffic law and rules of the road
- Safe and defensive driving techniques
Getting Your Restricted License after North Dakota Drivers Ed
After you have received your driver education certificate of completion, you may submit it to apply for a restricted license. Receiving your restricted license will require you to pass a road skills test. If you are 16 years of age or older and have held your learner permit for at least six months, you are free to schedule your road test. If you are younger than 16, you must have held your permit for at least one year and have completed 50 hours of supervised driving.
Your First-Time Georgia Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Georgia license? Confused by the DDS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Delaware Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Delaware license? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Florida Drivers License Guide
Florida license time? Confused by the FLHSMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
I Just Got My Permit and Now We’re Moving?!?
So you've just gotten your learner’s permit, and now you’re moving to another state. Are you going to have to start over just because dad got transferred?
Montana Drivers Ed
Ready for your Montana License? Confused by the MVD website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Maryland Drivers Ed
Ready for your Maryland license? Confused by the MVA website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.