Oregon teens applying for their first driver license are not required to complete driver ed as part of the process. However, taking an Oregon driver education course can help a new driver take to the road with more confidence and prepare them for the Oregon Department of Transportation required written and road tests.
Advantages of DMV Approved Drivers Ed Oregon
For Oregon residents younger than 18, a driver education course will count toward the DOT supervised driving requirement. You may complete this requirement in one of two ways:
- By completing an approved driver ed course as well as 50 hours of supervised driving
- By completing 100 hours of supervised driving
Another advantage to taking an Oregon drivers ed course is that it will exempt you from your driving skills test. The certificate of course completion that you will receive at the end of your class will be recognized by the OR DOT as a fulfillment of this requirement.
Teens who have recently moved to Oregon and have completed drivers ed in another state are not required to obtain a learner permit or complete a driver education course. You will need to visit your local DMV office, take any required tests and pay a licensing fee to get your Oregon license.
What Is Covered in Oregon Drivers Ed
An Oregon driver education course will be made up of the following components:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction
- Six hours of behind the wheel practice
- Six hours of in-car observation
- Five hours of supervised driving practice with a parent or legal guardian
The classroom portion of the course will cover the following topics:
- Oregon driving law and violations
- Sharing the road with other motorists, cyclists and pedestrians
- Defensive driving techniques
- Basic vehicle operation
Moving Past Oregon Drivers Ed
The next step in the licensing process will be to apply for your Oregon provisional license. To apply for this license you must:
- Be at least 16
- Have held a learner permit for at least six months
- Have completed all of your supervised driving hours
Because of the six-month waiting period, you may want to apply for your learner permit as soon as you can. To get this permit will require you to pass a written knowledge test. You may prepare for this exam in a number of ways:
- Study the Oregon driver handbook
- Review the material you have learned in a driver education course
- Boost your confidence with the permit practice test
A permit practice test can be a huge advantage as you apply for your learner permit. Practice tests are constructed from questions taken from past DOT exams. It’s like having the answers before the test.
Once you have satisfied the provisional license requirements, you will be required to pass a driving skills test unless you have completed an Oregon driver education course.
First-Time NY License Guide for Drivers 18 and Up
Does the NYDMV website have you confused about their 5-hour pre-licensing course? Let us help! Find answers you need to help get you on the road!
Your First-Time Pennsylvania Drivers License Guide
Pennsylvania license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Nevada Drivers License Guide
Nevada license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Minnesota Drivers Ed
Ready for your Minnesota License? Confused by the DVS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Ohio Drivers License Guide
Ohio license time? Confused by the BMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
New Hampshire Drivers Ed
Ready for your New Hampshire License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.