The South Dakota Department of Education offers drivers ed as part of the graduated driver licensing process of the Department of Public Safety. Drivers education is not a requirement in South Dakota, but taking a course provides advantages beyond making you a safer and more competent driver.
Benefits of Drivers Ed South Dakota
The first step to getting behind the wheel in South Dakota is to get a learner permit. Application for this permit can be made either before taking a driver education course or after. To get the permit before taking drivers ed, you must:
- Be at least 14
- Provide any required identification and proof of residence documents
- Pass a vision and written test
To get ready for the written test, you will certainly want to study the South Dakota driver handbook and may want to brush up your knowledge with the permit practice test. These tests contain questions taken from actual South Dakota permit exams and are a good way of knowing exactly what will be expected of you on the test.
IMPORTANT NOTE: if you do choose to take a drivers ed course, you will not be required to take the written examination. Further, you will be able to apply for your restricted minor permit after 90 days instead of 180, and your required driving test will be waived as well.
Topics Covered in Drivers Ed South Dakota
A Department of Education approved driver ed course will include both classroom and behind the wheel portions. During the classroom section you’ll be exposed to topics such as:
- The driving laws of South Dakota
- Road signs, signals and markings
- Safe and defensive driving techniques
- The dangers of DUI and DWI
Where You Can Take Drivers Ed South Dakota
A South Dakota driver education course can be taken at your high school, a commercial driving school or online. It is important that the course you choose is DOE approved if you are looking for written and driving test exemptions. Other courses, including online courses, will be helpful in preparing you to drive but will not grant you these exemptions.
Out of South Dakota Drivers Ed and Out onto the Road
At the end of your drivers ed class, you will receive a certificate of course completion and will be ready for the next step in the graduated driver licensing process. If you are under 16 years old, you may apply for a learner permit or a minor restricted permit. If you are over 16, you may apply for your South Dakota operators license. To apply for the minor restricted permit or the operator permit, you must be ticket free for the six months before application is made.
Remember, taking drivers ed South Dakota will help get you your license faster and exempt you from the written and road tests ordinarily required. More importantly, it will allow you to take to the road as a safer, more competent and more responsible driver.
Your First-Time Nevada Drivers License Guide
Nevada license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
West Virginia Drivers Ed
Ready for your West Virginia License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
New Mexico Drivers Ed
Ready for your New Mexico License? Confused by the MVD website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
North Carolina Drivers Ed
Ready for your North Carolina License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Michigan Drivers Ed
Ready for your Michigan license? Confused by the SOS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Aceable Overview: The Austin Startup that Revolutionized Online Education
Aceable continues past drivers ed taking boring courses nobody enjoyed and turning them into engaging, and dare I say it, enjoyable learning experiences.