For adults and teens alike living in Texas, taking a Driver’s Ed course may be a necessary requirement in order to receive a first-time license. There are some exceptions to this rule, though, so it’s important to review the information before you sign up for a test. Below is a general guideline to help you through the process.
Teens and Adults Must Take Driver’s Ed in Texas
If you live in Texas, and you’re between the ages of 15 and 24, you must by law complete a Driver’s Ed course to as one of the steps to obtaining a license. For those aged 15 to 17, the course allows you to obtain a driving permit which will allow you to practice your driving with a licensed driver aged 21 or older in the car. For those 18 to 24, completion of the course makes you eligible to obtain a full driver’s license. The courses are different for each age group so be careful to select the right one.
Is Anyone Exempt from Drivers Ed?
Adults over the age of 24 do not have to worry about taking the course and can enjoy the privilege of driving without having to deal with the requirements that younger drivers face. This isn’t the only group of drivers that can avoid taking the course, though. Adults from other states that already have their licenses do not have to take the course either. Only adults 18 to 24 applying for a first-time license are required to complete a driver training course.
What Will I Learn in the Course?
The course curriculum includes instruction on driving law and other rules of the road as well as theoretical topics on driving technique. The course can be taken via the internet or in a traditional classroom in your area. There is no behind the wheel training involved with this course; its purpose is to ensure that you know the rules of the road and how you are supposed to handle a vehicle.
Save Time By Going Online
Some people still travel to take Driver’s Ed in person today, but the majority of new students opt for an online course instead. It’s convenient to go through the lessons in the comfort of your home, and it doesn’t take very long either. That’s why many students are more than happy to go through an online version of the course. Not only that but with many online courses, the final exam doubles as the DMV exam, so there is no reason to go to the DMV to take their written test.
If at First You Don’t Succeed…
Most of the time when you take an online version of the driving course you can repeat chapters until you pass them. That means if you fail one or two of them the first time you can still go through them again until you pass. Even if you fail the final exam you can likely retake it for free until you pass it, so don’t sweat the tests too much.
Taking Traditional Driver’s Ed
While the adult Driver’s Ed course is mandatory, a full and complete course is not. However, if you have some confidence issues getting behind the wheel, perhaps a full traditional course may be the right choice for you. This course features 32 hours of instruction (again online or in a classroom) as well as 44 hours of behind the wheel practice. This is the ultimate way to prepare for that driving test so that you feel confident about what to do.
Once you’ve gone through Driver’s Ed, you’re eligible to take a local driving test. Bring your certificate of completion to a local DMV office, fill out the necessary paperwork and get ready to hit the road.
For the Nitty Gritty Step by Step
Your First-Time Idaho Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Idaho license? Confused by the ITD website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Wyoming Drivers Ed
Ready for your Wyoming License? Confused by the DOT website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel
Mississippi Drivers Ed
Ready for your Mississippi License? Confused by the DPS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Kansas Drivers Ed
Ready for your Kansas license? Confused by the KS Revenue website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
New Hampshire Drivers Ed
Ready for your New Hampshire License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
First-Time Texas License Guide for Drivers 18-24
TX DMV website have you confused about adult drivers ed ? Let us help! Find links to the steps, forms (and online driving schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.