To obtain a Utah drivers license, first-time drivers under the age of 18 must complete an approved driver education course. This course, required by the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles, will help you learn all you need to know to become a safe, responsible and confident driver.
Who Is Eligible for Drivers Ed Utah?
If you are at least 15 years old and have acquired your Utah learner permit, you may enroll in a driver education course. Applying for a Utah learner permit involves visiting your local DMV office, making sure to bring with you:
- Your parent or guardian
- Proof of your age using an unexpired passport or a certified copy of your birth certificate
- Proof of Social Security number
- Proof of legal Utah residency
- A completed Form DLD6A
For answers to your documentation questions, please visit the Utah DMV website.
Once you have submitted all the necessary paperwork, you will then be required to take a 50 question driving knowledge test. You are allowed two attempts a day to pass this exam, and if you should fail three times, you would be required to pay the $15 permit fee a second time.
To reduce your risk of failure, you may want to consider preparing yourself with a permit practice test. These tests are created from past Utah DMV exams so that you can know exactly what you’ll be up against when you get to the DMV. It’s not hard to be confident when you know the answers even before you’ve seen the questions!
How Utah Drivers Ed Works
An approved Utah drivers ed course will consist of 18 hours of classroom instruction, six hours of driving practice and six hours of in-car observation.
The classroom portion of your course will give you practical information on topics such as:
- Utah driving regulations and violations
- Safe and defensive driving techniques
- Hazardous driving conditions such as heavy traffic and bad weather
- The dangers of distracted driving
Where Is Drivers Ed Utah Available?
You may complete your Utah driver education course in any of the following locations:
- Your high school
- At an approved third-party driver training provider
- Within approved online driver education course
IMPORTANT NOTE: An online driver education course will only satisfy the classroom requirement. You will still need to finish the behind the wheel portion at your high school or a professional drivers training school.
Getting Your License after Drivers Ed Utah
If you are 18, have completed drivers ed and have held your learner permit for six months, you can apply for your Utah driver license. Applying for a driver license will include much of the same documentation required to get your learner permit. Application for your driver license can be made at your local DMV office and will require you to submit the following:
- Proof of driver education
- Proof of identity, residency and Social Security number
- A signed statement from your parent or guardian verifying that you have completed 40 hours of supervised practice driving
- A $30 nonrefundable license fee
Once your submitted documents have been approved, it will be time for you to take a vision and a driving skills test. After passing both exams, the only step left will be to have your picture taken for your brand-new Utah driver license
South Dakota Drivers Ed
Ready for your South Dakota License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Virginia Drivers License Guide
Virginia license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Georgia Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Georgia license? Confused by the DDS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
First-Time Texas License Guide for Drivers 18-24
TX DMV website have you confused about adult drivers ed ? Let us help! Find links to the steps, forms (and online driving schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Colorado Drivers License Guide
Colorado license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Kansas Drivers Ed
Ready for your Kansas license? Confused by the KS Revenue website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.