Every new driver under 18 years of age is required by the Washington Department of Licensing to complete an approved driver education course. In Washington, this course is also known as a Traffic Safety Education course.
A drivers education course is particularly useful to new drivers, preparing them to head onto the road safely and confidently and giving them information that will make it easier to pass the required licensing written and driving tests.
When You Can Begin Drivers Ed Washington
You can start a Washington drivers ed course as soon as you turn 15, but you will have to obtain a learner permit within ten days of starting your class. If you are applying for a learner permit and are under the age of 15 ½, you’ll have to provide proof of enrollment in a driver education course. If you are under the age of 18, you must submit parental approval. No matter your age, you’ll have to pass a written knowledge test in order to get your permit.
You can study the Washington driver handbook to prepare yourself for this exam, or you can make use of a permit practice test. Permit practice tests feature questions taken from past Washington written exams giving you the chance to see exactly the type of questions you’ll be required to answer.
How Washington Drivers Ed Works
A Washington drivers ed course is made of two components – a classroom portion and an in-car portion. The classroom portion is 30 hours long spread over a minimum of 15 days. The driving portion contains at least six hours of driving practice (with a maximum of one hour per day) and at least one hour of in-car observation.
The classroom portion of your course will provide information on topics like:
- Washington traffic law and violations
- How the national highway transportation system works
- Safe and defensive driving techniques
- Washington state auto insurance requirements
Washington drivers ed courses are offered at Washington high schools as well as state-approved driver training schools. To help you find a location near you, visit the driver training school page of the Washington Department of Licensing website.
Moving from Drivers Ed Washington to a Washington Driver License
Once you have finished your drivers education course, have completed 50 hours of driving practice and have held your learners permit for at least six months, you may apply for a Washington driver license. Application will be made at your local Washington DOL office, and you will need to supply the following:
- A drivers ed certificate of course completion, if your driving school did not submit one electronically already
- Proof of your identity
- Proof of liability car insurance
- A completed Form DLE-520-003 indicating that you have received parental permission to get your license.
To apply for a Washington driver license you must be at least 16 years of age. If you are less than 18, you will be issued an intermediate driver license, a license that carries driving restrictions. For full details about an intermediate driver license, visit the Washington DOL teen driver license website.
North Carolina Drivers Ed
Ready for your North Carolina License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Virginia Drivers License Guide
Virginia license time? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Massachusetts Drivers Ed
Ready for your Massachusetts license? Confused by the RMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Georgia Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Georgia license? Confused by the DDS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Minnesota Drivers Ed
Ready for your Minnesota License? Confused by the DVS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Illinois Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Illinois license? Confused by the SOS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.