If you are a teenager in Hawaii applying for your first drivers license, you are required by the Hawaii Department of Transportation (DOT) to complete a drivers ed course. Taking this course will not only prepare you to pass your written and road tests but will also go a long way in preparing you to be a safe, responsible and confident driver.
Eligibility Requirements for Drivers Ed Hawaii
The drivers education requirement of the graduated licensing program must be completed by all new Hawaii drivers younger than 18. Before enrolling in a course, you must first hold a learners permit. To get a permit, you must be at least 15 ½ years old. To obtain your permit, you will have to pass a written exam. There are three ways you can prepare yourself for this written exam:
- By studying the Hawaii DMV driver handbook
- By taking a driver prep course
- By using a learners permit practice test
A permit practice test will allow you to know exactly what’s on the test, even before you see it. That’s because practice tests feature questions taken from actual DMV exams. It’s like seeing all the answers before the test even begins!
What to Expect from Hawaii Drivers Ed
Teen driving candidates may complete a drivers ed program at either a public school or an approved professional driver training school. The course will consist of both classroom lessons and behind the wheel training.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Currently in Hawaii, online drivers education is not accepted by the Hawaii Department of Motor Vehicles. However, this does not mean that online course will not be helpful for test preparation and to instill good driving habits.
Regardless of where you complete your course, and Hawaii DOT approved drivers ed program will touch on the following topics:
- Basic vehicle operation
- Safe driving technique
- Hawaii traffic law and rules of the road
- Road signs, signals and markings
Once you have satisfied both the classroom and behind the wheel requirements, you will receive a course completion certificate.
Getting on the Road after Drivers Ed Hawaii
After completing your drivers ed course, you must hold your learners permit for at least 180 days. During those 180 days, take every opportunity to practice drive with a licensed driver is at least 21 years old. If, after this time, you have reached your 16th birthday, you may call your local DMV office and schedule a road test.
On the day of your driving test, be prepared to present proof of your identity, legal residence, Social Security number and, depending on your age, the certificate of completion from your drivers ed class.
Your First-Time Oklahoma Drivers License Guide
Oklahoma license time? Confused by the DPS website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Utah Drivers Ed
Ready for your Utah License? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
New Jersey Drivers Ed
Ready for your New Jersey License? Confused by the MVC website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Connecticut Drivers License Guide
Ready for your Connecticut license? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Florida Drivers License Guide
Florida license time? Confused by the FLHSMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps, forms (and a list of online drivers ed schools) you'll need to get behind the wheel.
Your First-Time Alaska Drivers License Guide
Need an Alaska license? Confused by the DMV website? Let us help! Find links to all the steps and forms you'll need to get behind the wheel.